KKA auf Facebook KKA auf twitter KKA auf youtube KKA auf flickr


Santa Ratniece (f)
Composer in Residence

Herkunftsland: Lettland
KKA-Residency: 2017
Webseite: http://santaratniece.blogspot.com

Porträt Foto Santa Ratniece
Porträt Foto Santa Ratniece
©Janis Ratnieks
Santa Ratniece is a Latvian composer of vocal and instrumental music. Ratniece`s music has been played in Europe, Australia, Canada, United States and South America by Latvian Radio Choir, The Crossing Choir, Cappella Amsterdam, Kronos string quartet, Arditti string quartet, International Contemporary Ensemble, Sinfonietta Riga, Musiques Nouvelles and Latvian National Symphony Orchestra among others.

Latvian composer Santa Ratniece started her musical studies with piano playing classes at Valmiera Music School. In 1992 she took up music theory classes in Emils Dārziņš College of Music in Riga. She continued her musical education at J.Vītols Latvia Music Academy and graduated in musicology (2000) and in composition (2002). Later on she studied composition with English composer David Rowland at Enschede Conservatory in Netherlands. Afterwards Santa Ratniece went on with her studies at Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre with Estonian composer Helena Tulve and in 2007 she obtained her MA.

Santa Ratniece`s music has been played in Europe, Australia, Canada, United States and South America by Latvian Radio Choir, Sinfonietta Riga, Latvian National Symphony Orchestra, Altera Veritas, Liepaja Symphony Amber Sound Orchestra, Spikeri string quartet, ReDo string quartet, pianists Vestard Shimkus and Reinis Zariņš, (Latvia), NYYD Ensemble, Ensemble Resonabilis, Estonian National Male choir (Estonia), Ensemble Sarband, Ensemble Recherche, Leipziger Blaserquintett, Ensemble Avantgarde, Ensemble RARO, Deutsch-Skandinavische Jugend-Philharmonie (Germany), Arditti Quartet, (England), Nederlands Kamerkoor, Cappella Amsterdam (The Netherlands), Musiques Nouvelles (Belgium) Quatuor Molinari (Canada), Sydney Symphony Fellows (Australia), SOCO Ensemble (Uruguay), Kronos Quartet, The Crossing Choir (United States), ConTempo Quartet (Rumania) and others.

Santa Ratniece first came into public view in 2004 after winning the 1st prize at the 2004 UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers in Paris for her work sens nacre (in the category of composers under 30), performed by Ensemble Nove, conductor Normunds Šnē. Her choir composition Saline was among selected works in 2008 UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers, but her orchestra piece Shant Nadi in 2012 UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers. Furthermore Santa Ratniece was awarded the Latvian Annual Award for Culture 2006 of the daily newspaper Diena for choir piece Saline, performed by Latvian Radio choir, conductor Sigvards Klava. Sens nacre for ensemble was awarded the Copyrights’ Infinity Award 2007 and Chu Dal for choir - the Copyrights’ Infinity Award 2011. 7th Liepaja concerto for piano and symphonic orchestra (performed by pianist Vestard Simkus and Liepaja Symphony Amber Sound orchestra) received Latvian Annual Award for Culture 2014 of the daily newspaper Diena and was nominated for supreme Grand Music Award 2014 in Latvia.
Ratniece`s music is devoted to the vocal music, she has received regular commissions from Latvian Radio choir and relationship with the choir started with Saline in 2006 and followed by Hirondelles du Coeur (2007, for choir and orchestra) horo horo hata hata (2008, for 12 voices), Chu Dal (2009), Fuoco Celeste (2011 for cello solo and choir) and Nada el layli (2015 for kemenche, qanun and choir).

The Crossing Choir of Philadelphia had the performances of Santa Ratniece’s three choir compositions in three concerts in the festival The Month of Moderns. Saline, Chu Dal and horo horo hata hata were sounding in three different venues of Philadelphia. My soul will sink within me written for The Crossing Choir in collaboration with International Contemporary Ensemble of New York had its premiere in the summer 2016 in New York and Philadelphia.
Latvian Radio choir chamber singers are the soloists in Santa Ratniece’s first stage work - multimedia opera by Hotel Pro Forma - WAR SUM UP. Music. Manga. Machines. This opera was premiered in Latvian National Opera in 2011, conducted by Kaspars Putniņš, having had further performances at Royal Theatre in Copenhagen, BAM Howard Gilman Opera House in Brooklyn New York, Brighton Festival 2012, ULTIMA Oslo Contemporary Music Festival 2011, Café Budapest Contemporary Arts Festival 2012, Materia Prima Festival 2012 (Poland), Transart Festival 2013 (Italy) and on other more than twenty theatre stages around Europe and Asia (Taiwan and China).

Santa Ratniece’s recent projects include commission from legendary Kronos Quartet. The premiere of Silsila took place in Big Concert Hall of Stanford University in October 2014. In Silsila (chain in Arabic) we are following the Brahmaputra river down streams from Tibet, through India and Bangladesh to the Bay of Bengal.

Santa Raniece`s music has been widely played in Baltic States. Her compositions have been included regularly in the programs of Arena Festival, Skaņu Mežs Festival, Latvian New Music Days, Introvert Music Festival, Autumn Chamber Music Festival, Cesis Art Festival (Latvia), Estonian Music Days, Autumn Festival (Estonia), ISCM World Music Days Vilnius, GAIDA Festival, Music of Changes (Lithuania).

Santa Ratniece has participated with her music in well-known festivals, such as Présences Paris, Tenso Days Paris (France), Klangspuren, Klangraum im Herbst (Austria), The Baltic Sea Festival (Sweden), MusiMars, Soundstreams (Canada), Tenso Dagen Amsterdam, Koorbiënnale Haarlem, Cello Biennale Amsterdam, Operadagen Rotterdam (The Netherlands), 2010 ISCM World New Music days Sydney (Australia), La Biennale di Venezia (Italy), Usedomer Music Festival (Germany), SOCO Festival (Uruguay), Vale of Glamorgan festival of music, Brighton festival (United Kingdom), Month of Moderns (United States), Warsaw Autumn (Poland) and others.

Weitere Informationen:






auf Facebook teilen twitter Drucken